After The Absence

The last time I blogged was May 2014 – eight months ago. That last blog post was published before my life changed. It was right before my dad became ill and died. Since then, life has taken me on a roller coaster ride of ups and downs, changes and transitions. I felt drained out of energy and focus to write fresh material, or any material really, for this Life Changes blog. How ironic.

In December I took myself off and away to make a personal dream come true — to visit Nepal and trek the Annapurna Sanctuary in Nepal. It was extraordinary and I have returned home now feeling grounded, re-energized, and inspired. How can seeing this sight of the Annapurna range not inspire?

Prayer flags in the Annapurna Sanctuary, Nepal

Prayer flags in the Annapurna Sanctuary, Nepal

So I am taking the same determination that got me to the Annapurna Sanctuary and channeling it into writing this blog again.

I hope you will enjoy the posts that are born out of this long absence, perhaps enough to add a comment and share your ideas too. I would love to hear from you!

Gallery | This entry was posted in Inspiration & Creativity, Leisure lifestyle, Personal Power & Self-Leadership, Self-Growth & LifeLongLearning, Transitions and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to After The Absence

  1. ruthtamari says:

    Thanks for stopping by and for the warm welcome back Allison!
    Yes, it was great to go away to find beautiful new ground, new land, new perspective, new energy. Sometimes it takes going away to find ourselves again.

  2. Allison Tarr says:

    Welcome back to the blogosphere 🙂 I’m glad you found some solid ground and were able to bring some home with you.

  3. ruthtamari says:

    Hi Pat,
    Thanks for sharing about your personal loss, for your condolences and your support of these first few steps.
    Your words “one of life’s shake-ups for certain; and a true catalyst” ring with resonance. The decision to take time for myself to nurture, nourish and restore my spirit seems to have been made out of necessity – the way these decisions often get made.
    Wishing you a wonderful 2015 and those steps you choose to take…

    Warm regards, Ruth

  4. ruthtamari says:

    Mariana,

    Thanks for your kind, supportive and thoughtful comments!
    I love your attitude and approach to life, that life is not perfect and knowing that helps us through. That and having chocolates in our menu! For sure!

    Family and friends are most helpful and we do find out who our friends are when the shit hits the ceiling, at least in this moment in time.
    It is eye-opening to find out who is is able to be with us in the shitty parts and who is needing to keep their distance. Honestly, I can say the same thing about myself from times in the past!

    It’s wonderful to hear that you have transitioned into retirement with such gusto and continue to participate in life long learning. I’m sure that you facilitate an inspiring, thought-provoking course on climate change, Mariana!

    Warm regards, Ruth

  5. patsh2014 says:

    Ruth,Please accept my deep sympathy for the loss of your Dad. I lost mine at age 30. One of life’s shake-ups for certain; and, a true catalyst The psyche can contain only so much shock, so it was a wise decision for you to nurse and coax yourself back onto your changed path. Welcome back to the first few steps. Thinking of you…. Pat ShaunessyDate: Thu, 8 Jan 2015 16:06:37 +0000 To: patsh@sympatico.ca

  6. mariana grinblat says:

    how did you arrange your trip to Nepal, I would like to do that too? never been there! tx, Mariana.

    Date: Thu, 8 Jan 2015 16:06:37 +0000 To: mgrinblat1@hotmail.com

  7. mariana grinblat says:

    I am so very sorry to hear about your dad and I hear your pain. I had the same pain when my late hubby died 16 years ago, my 2nd marriage did not work out, and my oldest boy who is very bright fell ill with bipolar.

    As a scientist/engineering person I devised the theory that says that life is not perfect, and said that to myself, and bad chocolates are supposed to be in our menu! it has helped me cope well, and as a single mom I have gotten so much stronger, and I know you will too Ruth.

    Glad you took time for yourself to recoup, and if you like to meet for coffee one day, I will treat you for coffee. I am happily retired, facilitate a course on CLIMATE CHANGE at University of Toronto, that I like and take courses, enjoy my 5 grandkids and have made new wonderful friends, as you find out who your friends are when shit hits the ceiling.

    be well and continue taking good care of yourself, and you are doing all of us by running your wonderful seminars. your work will keep you grounded. happy new year, warm regards, Mariana.😊

    MARIANA GRINBLAT, M.Sc., M.Eng.

    Date: Thu, 8 Jan 2015 16:06:37 +0000
    To: mgrinblat1@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

